Since 1981, the Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon has enticed top professional and amateur triathletes to attempt the impossible – ESCAPE from Alcatraz. The course and the lore surrounding it brings top competitors back each year to try and get their top finish added to the annals of Escape history. This is not your average triathlon and it never will be. This event prides itself on the sub average water conditions, rough road terrain and sandy climbs that one must endure to complete this race. Successfully finishing this event guarantees bragging rights among fellow triathletes and will leave even your most athletic friends in awe!

Touted as a "legendary” race within the triathlon community, the Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon traditionally draws top international triathletes to the competition. The World's top triathletes and recognizable names that competed and won in the past include:

Athlete Year(s) Won More Information
Andy Potts
2014, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008, 2007
www.andypottsracing.com
Sarah Haskins
2014 www.sarahhaskins.com
Javier Gomez Noya 2013 www.javiergomeznoya.com
Heather Jackson 2013 www.heatherjacksonracing.com
Leanda Cave
2012, 2010, 2008, 2007
www.leandacave.com  
Nicky Samuels 2011 www.nickysamuels.com
Hunter Kemper 2010, 2005 www.hunterkemper.com
Mary Beth Ellis 2009 http://marybethellisracing.blogspot.com
Matt Reed 2006 www.mattyreed.com
Becky Lavelle 2006 www.beckylavelle.com
Susan Williams 2005 www.usatriathlon.org/athlete/athlete/2695
Simon Lessing 2004, 2003, 1995 www.simonlessing.net/about
Michellie Jones 2004, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1995 www.gomichellie.com
Barb Lindquist 2003 www.barblindquist.com
Chris McCormack 2002, 2001, 2000, 1998, www.chrismccormack.com
Wes Hobson 1999 www.weshobsonperformance.com
Greg Welch 1997, 1992 www.gregwelch.com
Mike Pigg 1996, 1993, 1991, 1990 www.mikepigg.com
Sue Latshaw 1996
Sian Welch 1994
Paula Newby Frasier 1993, 1992, 1991 www.multisports.com/paula.html
Terri Schneider 1990 www.terrischneider.net
Scott Tinley 1989 www.scotttinley.com
Marsha White 1989
Peter Lewandowski 1988, 1987
Alisia Steinhardt 1988
Cynthia Nesvig 1987
Lester Waddel 1984
Charlie Graves 1983
Claire McRae 1983, 1982
Dave Horning 1982, 1981






2014 Muscle Milk

2014 Cytomax